Mitchell T. Saltzberg

Medical Director of Heart Failure
Co–Director, Pulmonary Hypertension
Christiana Care Health Services

Christiana Care

Christiana Care Health Services
4755 Ogletown-Stanton Road
Newark, DE 19718

Phone: (302) 733-1507
Fax: (302) 733-4998

  • MD, Yale University School of Medicine, 1992
    B.Sc., University of Wisconsin at Madison, 1987
    Internal Medicine Residency, University of Chicago Hospital

Research Overview:

Mitchell T. Saltzberg, MD currently serves as Medical Director of Heart Failure at Christiana Care Health System and is Co-director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Program. Dr. Saltzberg maintains an active research program at Christiana Care with interests in the use of electronic health systems in heart failure care, patient empowerment strategies, proactive care models, ultrafiltration and heart failure outcomes research.

Dr. Saltzberg is the former Medical Director of the Heart Failure Program and Co-Director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Center at Midwest Heart Specialists in Downers Grove, Illinois.  Dr. Saltzberg graduated with distinction from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he earned his Bachelor of Science degree.  He earned his Doctor of Medicine degree from Yale University, followed by an internal medicine residency at University of Chicago Hospital and a cardiology fellowship at Rush-Presbyterian St. Luke’s Medical Center in Chicago.  He served as Co-Director of the Cardiomyopathy and Transplant Unit at Rush and joined Midwest Heart Specialists in 2001 to serve as Medical Director of the Heart Failure Program.  Dr. Saltzberg joined Christiana Care Health System in 2007.

Dr. Saltzberg has published numerous articles and book chapters on heart failure and issues related to cardiac transplant.  He regularly lectures in his field in national and international arenas.  Since 1998, Dr. Saltzberg has been on the editorial board of the Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation and serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Cardiac Failure.  He has served continuously as a member of the National Heart Failure and Transplantation Committee of the American College of Cardiology since 2002.